PDA

View Full Version : My svo feels like it loses power when I try to accelerate around 3000 rpm.

BoostedSvo23
02-14-2012, 06:42 PM
Hi guys im haveing a problem with my 86 svo I just bought it and had been sitting for three years could any one help?

Juice
02-15-2012, 05:24 AM
Not enough detail to answer your question.

NotBud
02-15-2012, 07:52 AM
Change ALL the fluids (petrol, oil, gearbox oil, rear diff, brake fluid, ...)

BoostedSvo23
02-15-2012, 04:24 PM
Hello guys thanks for the response im new to the SVO but not to Ford its a 1986 1e 75,000 original I am doing complete tune up wires, cap&rotor, plugs, pcv, fuel filter, all motorcraft new valve cover gasket, all the intake gaskets I/c couplers all the fuses are good I cleaned the iac and the throtle body also the vam I ran better I can say also put in four galones of 93 but maby I needs a full gas tank to run all the old gas it had in it I will let u guys know how it runs after that if I still have that problem.

TheSVOTrust-MarkHaas
02-15-2012, 06:31 PM
You may want to STOP once you do the tune up ! (I wouldn't tear into intake gaskets at all)
Get the car running with the new wires and plugs (plain old .99 cent autolites gapped to .029/.030 max)

When a car sits that long it would have been better to drop the tank and drain the fuel. Replaced the injectors and go from there. Since you didn't do it that way and have started down this path you can finish the tune up - DON'T change the timing or mess with distributor. Cap rotor and wires. TAKE YOUR TIME with the wires -you would be surprised how often people mess up just 4 wires ! (Also -LOOK an confirm how they are installed -sometimes people "walk a plug" to make up (the wrong way) for timing issues)