PDA

View Full Version : fuel pressure



keith84svo
10-02-2011, 06:18 PM
I cant pass smog and found out this problem.

I hooked a gauge up and found at idle im 32 psi and gave it gas and it went up to 40ish. Is it the high pump or low pump. I know I can install a walboro 255. Will this still work with my never been adjusted fuel regulator. Install and don't do anything any regulating.

becools
10-03-2011, 11:03 AM
It sounds like you need to check the FPR.. And possibly the vacuum going to it. A walboro 255 should be a plug and play fuel pump, and yea you can use the same fuel regulator, if it is working correctly that is. How many miles are on the car?

becools
10-03-2011, 11:05 AM
It should gain a few psi when you rev it, but 8 psi seems like alot.. Also, Does it idle a little rough?

keith84svo
10-03-2011, 11:19 AM
When you start the car it takes a few turns. Then when it starts high rpms around 2500ish and I tap on the gas pedel to stop it. The gauge says 87400. The car was un-op for 10 years. Maybe 187400 likely

becools
10-03-2011, 11:25 AM
Have you replaced the injectors? Or inspected the fuel tank before you ran it? It sounds like maybe an injector may be sticking.

keith84svo
10-03-2011, 11:43 AM
The had 40ish idle pressure before I blew a gas line going into the rail. eve rsince the car hasnot be the same. Everything on the car is stock and original.

NotBud
10-03-2011, 02:43 PM
The year old petrol? Whatever is left in the tank and lines is NOT petrol anymore. Hard starting? I'm surprised it started at all. Drain the tank, flush the system and fill with fresh petrol.

Fuel pressure should be ~39PSIG without the vac line connected.

keith84svo
10-03-2011, 02:46 PM
when I got the car i did all that stuff. lately it just went out. I'm checking for some leaks. Im not going to be like all the other guys and start throwing money at it just to get lucky on something.